Guide to Creating Users

This video shows how to create new users so other people can use Fusion at your yard. It also shows how to connect Fusion Anywhere users to local user accounts at your yard.

Video

Video in English

Time: 4:24

Video en español

Time: 5:02

Este video fue traducido con inteligencia artificial.

Transcript

When it comes to using Fusion at your feedlot, it's important for everyone involved to have their own user account. This helps in attributing events to specific individuals and allows for tailored access based on roles and experience. Beyond your regular employees, you might also want to create user accounts for external consultants like your veterinarian or nutritionist.

Now, let's walk through the process of creating a new user account for Joe Grant. Since we have the Fusion Setup Assistant window open, we'll navigate to the Users section and click the "Add A New User" button. Alternatively, you can access this through the Users menu after ensuring that the Fusion Admin menu bar is active.

We'll first enter Joe's full name, phone number, and email address. We occasionally send emails to help employees get the most out of using Fusion so we encourage you to leave this checkbox turned on. Don't worry, we won't spam anyone!

Keep in mind that usernames must be unique. We'll simply use Joe's first name.

Now, it's time to set up a password for Joe. Enter it twice, and Joe will need to know this to access the system. He'll have the option to change it to something only he knows later.

Next, we need to select the permissions group for Joe. Permission groups are explained in another video, but they essentially control what Joe can do in Fusion. You can update his group at any time, and the changes will take effect the next time Joe logs in or does a full sync if he's in a feed truck.

Now, let's take a look at the next checkbox. It's for critical system messages. When something major happens in Fusion, this checkbox ensures that all users with it enabled receive a message through the Message Center. Typically, customers turn this on for their admin-level staff, but it's important to have it turned on for at least one person who is involved in the day to day operation, ensuring that important messages are promptly addressed.

Moving on to the next checkbox. When a new version of Fusion is installed, the first person logging in with Fusion Client must accept a license agreement. Only users with this checkbox turned on will be able to accept these agreements. Others will be blocked from proceeding. So, it's crucial to grant this ability to at least one person who will be on-site during upgrades.

We're almost finished. The last checkbox indicates whether this user is currently allowed to access the system. When an employee leaves your feedlot, avoid deleting their user account as it's tied to all the events they were part of. Instead, simply uncheck this field, and they won't be able to log in anymore. If they return to work, you can re-enable this field. Don't forget to click the "Save" button when you're done.

If you ever need to edit a user, just open the list of users and double-click on the one you want to edit.

If you're using Fusion Anywhere and want to connect this local user account, the person must already have a Fusion Anywhere account and you'll need to be connected to the internet during this process. Start by clicking the "Fusion Anywhere Connection..." button. In this window, you can choose which locations this person will be allowed to see through Fusion Anywhere, so we'll turn on the locations they should have access to. At least one location must be selected before continuing.

Next, click "Connect..." to begin linking this local user to their Fusion Anywhere account. Enter the user's Fusion Anywhere ID. If they are not sure where to find it, they can log into Fusion Anywhere and look in the bottom left corner of the screen or in their account settings. Then click the button to have a verification code sent to the email address tied to that Fusion Anywhere account.

Once they receive the email, enter the verification code and verify it. Then click "Connect" to complete the link. This will return you to the main User Edit window, where you should click "Save."

If you later open the Fusion Anywhere Connection window again, you'll be able to see whether the user is connected, along with some basic account details so you can confirm it is the correct person. If you ever need to remove that access later, you can use the Disconnect button from this same window.

As always, you can find more details in the documentation by clicking the help button, and our support team is always available for assistance.

Related Content